Upgraded Cable Modem

After being told repeatedly, for what seems like years, I should upgrade to a DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem because they are faster, I finally found one on sale at NewEgg last week and purchased it.

I hate messing with cable modems because there is too good a chance that Comcast will have to get involved. I checked the web and people were saying that I just plug the new one in and I’ll be redirected to a page to register the new modem and I’m done and good.

Nope. The modem failed to establish a connection with Comcast and I had to call technical support. I will say that it seems Comcast support is getting easier to deal with. I probably waited < 10 minutes to get connected to a human. There was no flubbing around, he knew what to do and got right on it. Within 30 minutes it was registered and working.

I was a little hesitant to hang up as while the modem had good lights, I still wasn’t connecting and his comment was just wait 5-10 minutes and it will be OK. After he hung up I went into my router, found it didn’t have an IP address assigned so I renewed the lease and BANG it was running.

The downside is, after buying this modem, my speed is exactly the same 30MB down and 5MB up. There a chance that the speed change is a software setting (good chance really), and it might take a day or so to take effect, so I’ll check again tomorrow. If I really see an increase, I’ll report it as a comment.

This entry was posted in c-pcos, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upgraded Cable Modem

  1. Dan Theman says:

    Finally remembered to check. WOW, it did make a difference. Up/down went from 30MB/5MB to 67MB/12MB. According to the tech, I will save about $20 / mo for 6 months by making this change, then it goes back to the original price. So I save a little in the long run by making the change PLUS I can download linux ISO’s to my heart’s contentđŸ™‚

  2. Joe says:

    Wow, only a 30 minute to swap aa capable modem. Mine is comcast modem with phone package and tv. A few months ago they sent me a new one. It took four hours with comcast support one night trying to get all 3 feeds working. Major pain. Abut it did double my speeds to 20MB down and 120MB up as a default internet package on the newer fiber optics they have down my street. I cas see a speed difference so I happy with it.

Leave a Reply

