Windows XP Driver for Dell Wifi Card DW1506 on a Vostro 270

I just want to post this in case there is any one else trying to do the same thing.

I have a Dell Vostro 270 that I want to run Windows XP on. My prior post concerning the Conexant Audio driver includes more commentary on the exact procedure to follow. For this post I’m going to just mention the exact change to make.

The Dell DW1506 Wifi NIC is an Atheros model AR9485. Locate 32-bit drivers for Windows 7. I think I found them on softpedia.com.

As with the Audio driver, you just need to tweak an INF file so it knows about the cards SUBSYS parameter. In the file netathw.inf I located a line with the same VEN and DEV, copied it to the next line and changed the subsys value. In my case I added this line:

%ATHER.DeviceDesc.9485%     = ATHER_DEV_9485.ndi,     PCI\VEN_168C&DEV_0032&SUBSYS_02081028

I then installed the driver from the device manager. I got a warning indicating the driver isn’t verified for Windows XP, but it installed fine and the WIFI connection worked great after that.

This entry was posted in Atheros AR9485 XP Driver, c-pcos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Windows XP Driver for Dell Wifi Card DW1506 on a Vostro 270

  1. eliel says:

    thanks it works for me!!! ur a genius man

Leave a Reply

