Webcam Telescope Lens Mounted and CCD Platform Assembled

Made some good progress on the webcam telescope today. The CCD sensor platform has been assembled. It is just a flat piece of wood mounted to the back of the box by 3 screws. I can turn the screws from the outside to move the platform back and forth and adjust it so it is parallel with the actual ‘film plane’ as well.

usbtele1

I decided to try to mount the lens adapter directly to the box. Failing that, I would do some kind of 3D print. I had the lens adapter fitting almost perfect. One screw head was just a bit too high for the lens to fit. As I tried to make the screw head hole a bit deeper the bit caught and messed up the lens adapter. Fortunately,  I was able to clean it up and the screw fits flush.

usbtele2

Here is the basic box with the lens mounted.

usbtele3

The platform and lens adapter were the hardest parts I figure (based on my lack of mechanical skills). The rest should go fairly smoothly.

 

This entry was posted in c-photo, Webcam Telescope. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

