Instructions for Emulating an HP2000 Access Computer System using SIMH

Since I’ve been working on the PDP-8 emulation in past weeks, it occurred to me that I should post my old notes for setting up an HP2000 emulation.

The HP2000 was the first computer system I ever used, back in high school in 1977. I have very fond memories of it and it started me down the path to a great career.

I only saw it a few times (expensive computers were kept far away from students – we just had a teletype and a modem) but this looks much like the system I recall:


I documented my process of setting up an HP2000 using SIMH and then various operation procedures several years ago. I posted these instructions on HP2000 Family Yahoo group which can be found here:

In case the ‘Clean Access.ZIP’ file I mention in my notes disappears from the Yahoo group, I kept a duplicate of it here:

Topics in my notes include:

  • Creating the Initial System
  • Accessing the Emulator
  • Normal Shutdown
  • Normal Startup
  • A Simple Backup (ZIP)
  • Restoring the ZIP Backup
  • Enabling Write Ring on the Tape Drive
  • SLEEP to tape
  • Hibernate to Tape
  • The System Tape
  • Example of creating Salvage Tape
  • To Load System from Sleep or Hibernate Tape
  • Selectively DUMP
  • Selectively Restore
  • Restoring T00.TAP
  • Accessing the Paper Tape Reader
  • Trek73

Here is the PDF with all of my notes:

HP2000-Access Installation and Operation

This entry was posted in c-retro and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

