Cheap Chinese DC-DC Converter Step Up Module 1-5V to 5V 500mA Power Module Pin Out

I purchased several of these from ebay:

chinese dc-dc converter

Here is the link I used:

When I received it, I realized it doesn’t have the same pin outs as the sparkfun converter I had previously used. At first glance, 5V and GND seem to me to be the output and IN+ and IN- the input, but the D+ and D- threw me.

So I took it to the local makerspace and asked if anyone knew how to wire it. One of the guys there says the D+ and D- are for USB. Chances are one could wire a USB socket to this board. So D+ and D- can be ignored.

Input     Output
IN+       5V
IN-       GND

Once it was running, I realized it has a little LED on it to indicate it has power. In my case, I wanted to use a battery so I didn’t need an extra power drain. I carefully crushed the LED with wire cutters, then removed the residue with an exacto knife.

This entry was posted in c-electronics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cheap Chinese DC-DC Converter Step Up Module 1-5V to 5V 500mA Power Module Pin Out

  1. Sean Straw says:

    I’ve ordered similar devices via AliExpress:

    They come with the USB-A (female) connector soldered on them (I’ve found listings without them, but curiously, they always cost _more_). Because I’m not driving USB connected devices, I’ve de-soldered the USB-A, then cut the PCB short with a bandsaw, which reduces the size of the board by about 1/3 (the connector doesn’t overhang the edge of the PCB on the ones I use). This is okay as long as there’s nothing significant underneath it – I checked the pics for yours and it’s just groundplane to the two mounting holes at the corner (BOTH are ground – they’re for the shell tabs which actually hold the USB housing to the PCB). A quick run across a piece of sandpaper or a file, and you’d hardly notice it wasn’t made that way. In the case of your PCB, you wouldn’t save as much real estate and you’d also lose the pin legend, but then that’s what red and black wire are for, right?

    Even with a USB-A header in place, the two contacts on the bottom can be soldered to directly, so that a wired load can be driven without impacting the future utility of driving a USB device.

    Dang, something else to add to my project list: etch some USB power tabs – short pieces of 1-sided PCB with leads on them spaced per the USB spec, to which I can solder a pin header or wires directly to. Then projects could be plugged directly into the USB connector (either on these devices, or on a computer or television, etc).

Leave a Reply

