ESP8266 NodeMCU DevKit Development Board

(click here to see index of all ESP8266 posts)

Before I get started trying to write anything for the ESP8266, I decided to get a NodeMCU dev board:

nodeMCU-dev-fig1This exposes all the pins, let’s you connect directly to a USB cable, and mounts in a breadboard. And it has the NodeMCU LUA firmware already installed.

This device uses a different chip to connect USB to serial instead of the ubiquitous FTDI chip. More about this here:

Mainly, it requires a different driver.  I found reference to the driver here:

and if that link goes bad, the driver itself is here:

I unzipped the file into the directory CH341. I then updated the driver manually using that location and it worked perfectly. Even on my old Win XP system.

Connecting to the serial port, I was greeted with the LUA ‘>’ prompt.

I’m ready to write a simple script.



This entry was posted in c-esp8266 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ESP8266 NodeMCU DevKit Development Board

  1. Noorul says:

    I try to connect nodemcu board to my laptop but it shows USB is not recognized continuously. Please help me to solve this problem.

  2. Pingback: Setup a development environment for ESP8266 | SKZ 81 // it's about boards and codes

Leave a Reply

