Refurbishing a Skimmer Weir Gate

A weir gate is attached to swimming pool skimmers to keep the rubbish collected by the skimmer from floating back out into the pool.

The ones I’ve seen use a Styrofoam float to keep the gate up.  I noticed my pool has been hard to keep clean lately, and I realized the old weir gate was no longer floating properly.

OK, I should say there is very little good reason to refurbish a weir gate because they are really cheap. Unless you are really cheap (nothing wrong with that), OR, as in my case, the new one you ordered doesn’t quite fit.

The weir gate I ordered was just a smidge too large. I was going to need to trim maybe a 1/4″ off. But first I needed to get the old one out which was kind of a mystery. All instructions I have found talk about installing the new one not removing the old one.

As I looked carefully at it I looked like I could get a very thin screw driver under the ‘post’ I was seeing and maybe pry it out.  Sure enough I was able to work the ‘post’ out of its socket and I realized it wasn’t little pins holding the weir gate in place, but the posts set in shallow sockets.

I don’t know if they all work the same, but the weir gates I have have a rod inside them that is like a compression curtain rod as you can see from the picture.


If you can remove the weir gate intact, it is perfectly easy to refurbish.

Once the weir gate was out I could remove the Styrofoam and sure enough it was badly water logged. It weighed as much as a small brick (pictured at the top).

As I looked at the Styrofoam, I realized I had extra Styrofoam in my parts bins I’d saved from packing material – it comes in handy once in a while. I located my stock and it has the same texture as that in the new weir gate, so I decided to use it (leaving the entire new weir gate for future use should I need it).

I cut my stock down to the same dimensions (2nd block of Styrofoam above) and inserted into the weir gate.

Now to reassemble. The new weir gate has pins holding the compression rod in place. I had tiny picture nails of about the same size. I stuck one nail in on one side, then used a dowel to compress the rod into place so I could get the 2nd nail positioned (having a helper here is very, well, helpful).

Once the pins were in place my old weir gate looks just like the new:


Note the nails are sticking out on the flat side – this is the side you will be able to access with pliers once the gate is positioned properly.

At this point, installation is simple – position the gate so the posts are aligned roughly with the sockets. Pull the first nail, check alignment again, then pull the 2nd nail and you are done.

Try not to drop the nails in the pool!

This entry was posted in c-Misc and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

