Can’t Get I2C to Work on an Arduino Nano? (Pinout Diagrams)

Maybe it is because many of the pinout diagrams for the Nano have SCL and SDA on the wrong pins.

You probably think (as I did and as the guys laying out the pinout diagrams) that these would be on digital pins, but they are not. They are on analog pins.

SDA              Pin A4
SCL              Pin A5

Once you wire it up correctly, this arduino I2C scanner will let you know you have proper connectivity and the address for the device:

http://playground.arduino.cc/Main/I2cScanner

Jump to Pinout for:


Here is a correct Nano pin out diagram:


And while I’m at it, here is one for an Uno:


and a Mega


Teensy 3.1


ATTinys


Raspberry Pi


NodeMCU

NodeMCU Pinout


Nano 33 IoT

 

This entry was posted in c-arduino, c-tinys. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Can’t Get I2C to Work on an Arduino Nano? (Pinout Diagrams)

  1. Mr C says:

    Thanks for posting the pinouts! I was going to tediously go through the whole thing and map them out myself but no need now.

    Saved on the hard drive for later reference

  2. Blue Chip says:

    These pictures are awesome – I wish you had provided a key as to what the labels means. I’ve deduced most of them on the Nano (EG. wiggly line means PWM enabled on one of three timers and pale-blue is a type of serial IO) but others (EG. Yellow circle and white square) ellude me :/

  3. beil says:

    Awesome thanks mate and keep up the excellent work! – saving us lots of frustration 🙂

  4. Sylvain says:

    This is amazing ! Beautifull & usefull pinout diagrams !!!

  5. okierie says:

    Good for quick reference! 😉

  6. Great job. very useful. LIKE !!

  7. HiJoe says:

    WOW, that is what I am looking for! Awesome overview! THANKS!

  8. David Esquivel says:

    This helped me out. Thanks a lot

  9. ARD2560 says:

    Fig. Arduino MEGA is incorrect pin INT0 – INT5. see https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/AttachInterrupt

    • Dan TheMan says:

      I think you are misreading. The arduino doc you mention indicates interrupts on pins 2, 3, 18, 19, 20, 21.

      If you look at the IDE pins in the diagram (kind of a pink color), you’ll see interrupts 0-5 are assigned to pins 2, 3, 18, 19, 20, 21.

      If that is wrong, please explain. Thanks.

      • Krisz says:

        Hi Dan,
        I checked what ARD2560 said about the interrupt pins and he appears to be correct. You have them marked in the wrong order. It should be:
        Pin2 – Int0
        Pin3 – Int1
        Pin18 – Int5
        Pin19 – Int4
        Pin20 – Int3
        Pin21 – Int2

        This is based on:
        https://www.arduino.cc/en/Reference/AttachInterrupt
        Paragraph “Interrupt numbers”

      • Dan TheMan says:

        OK, I at least see the original complaint now – the reference you are looking at says Pin 2 should be interrupt 0. I don’t have time to try this myself, so I tried to find additional sources that agree. Unfortunately I can only find the original diagram I posted, the arduino.cc reference you mention, and this pin mapping diagram (https://www.arduino.cc/en/Hacking/PinMapping2560) which agrees with the picture not the reference. Have you tried using interrupt 0 on Pin2 on a mega and can verify the reference is correct and not the diagram or pin mapping diagram?

        It’s not my diagram so I can’t (well won’t) change it, but if it is correct I will stick some commentary before it.

  10. ARD2560 says:

    I mean the assignment of interrupt number to dig.pins , Mega2560:

    INT0 INT1 INT2 INT3 INT4 INT5
    http://www.arduino.cc…: 2 3 21 20 19 18 – see tab. down
    bigdanzblog.wordpress…: 21 20 19 18 2 3

    (I am sorry, I use Google Translate.)

  11. You forgot OC0B on pin 5 (PD5) of the Arduino Uno.

  12. AuLeeFor says:

    Sometimes it’s not a pin out problem. I have an barometer sensor can run either 3.3V or 5V.
    When connected to 3.3V on Nano it does’nt work but on 5V. I’ve checked 3.3 voltage is OK.
    On Uno board however it works from 3.3V Pin.

  13. Rene says:

    Thanks for those amazing pinouts

  14. Pingback: 【Arduino】LCDディスプレイを使ってみた – A hint of smart agri

  15. Troy Bourne says:

    Thank you. Thank you. Leave it to me to have this by my first board I’ve worked with. I of course resoldered all my connections thinking that must be the problem. Who’d have thought the board would be incorrectly labeled. One more notch in the challenge belt. Thanks again!

  16. Pingback: A DIY Drone Remote Controller | Manohar Kuse's Cyber

  17. Pingback: Atmega328 - Home Floor Plans Architecture Ideas

  18. Pingback: Making a Light Alarm Clock with Arduino + RTC for Beginners - Wintermute Digital

  19. zega says:

    Attiny 84 you have posted WRONG pin map, i have lost a lots of time trying to make it work, then troubleshooted pins, it is going anti clockwise (0-10), and i was relieved when i found confirmation here: https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=211843.msg1554336#msg1554336

    • Dan TheMan says:

      I am unable to tell from that link exactly what the problem is, but I’m looking at ATMEL’s data sheet and the labels they use are in the same place on the JPG. Tho there are more labels on the JPG than the datasheet, and I cannot verify those.

  20. zegarac says:

    Well i actually verified and tested it myself, so i posted that just as resolution. Bottom line pins you posted on image http://www.tr3sdland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/ATtiny.png regarding ATTINY84 are wrong (shuffled), exact pins are in the post i shared link to (verified trough coding suffering and troubleshooting) i was shocked how well made nice picture that is factually WRONG is shared all over the net!

  21. Hans Speijer says:

    If it does not work despite using correct pins, try using a pullup resistor (I used 4.7K) on both pins.

  22. Pingback: Makeblock XY 绘图仪上的grbl? | GRBL官方网站

  23. Pingback: grbl on the Makeblock XY Plotter? #872 | GRBL官方网站

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.